GladAfrica Championship FixturesThe National First Division of South African football is the second-highest domestic league in the country. The second level of the South African football league has gone through numerous formats and name changes in the past. The winner of the competition has always been guaranteed an automatic spot in the Premier Soccer League (PSL). The name of the league has since changed to GladAfrica Championship, with additional funds pumped into the second tier of SA football. If past seasons are any indication, there are no outright favourites when it comes to first division football. Club sides that have been relegated from the PSL find it difficult to return back because the competition is as difficult in the first division.

The GladAfrica Championship is an annual 16-team football league in South Africa where teams compete for the title between May and May. Popular teams this season include Ajax Cape Town, Uthongathi, and Ts Galaxy Fc amongst many others. The GladAfrica Championship fixtures follow a conventional format, with twenty-two teams competing over the course of a season. Each side plays each other three times across the campaign, with home and away games alternating. At the end of the season, two sides are relegated from the competition and replaced by teams from the National First Division.

Top First Division Betting Sites

Claim Now
100% Match
Up to R3000

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets
100% Match

Bonus Up To R1715

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets
200% Match

Bonus Up To R3000

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets
100% Match
Up to 100€

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets
R25 Sign Up Bonus

Jackpot: R4 500 000

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets
Bet €10 Get €30

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets
Bet €20 win €200

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets
R500 Free Sports Bet

+ Bonus Up To R3500

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets

South Africa National First Division Prediction

Predicting the performance of Black Leopards in the National First Division this season is difficult without knowing more about their team. However, given their past experiences in the Premier Soccer League and their recent return to elite football, it's safe to say that Leopards should do well and remain competitive in the NFD League.

Despite their relegation from the National First Division (NFD) last season, Mthatha Bucks are still hopeful of gaining promotion back to the NFD. The Vodacom League, in which they currently compete, comprises eleven regional leagues with only the top team from each league qualifying for a do-or-die play-off league. But with fewer resources and a significantly lower monthly stipend than in the NFD - R75 000 instead of R100 000 - it will be a tough challenge for Mthatha Bucks to regain their top flight status.

Predicting who will dominate the National First Division (NFD) League each year can be a challenge due to the low media attention and sponsorship that the teams receive. Even winning a few Nedbank Cup matches won't guarantee a spot at the top of South Africa's soccer league rankings. Predictions for the upcoming seasons of the NFD League are a tough one to make, due to the fast-paced and frenetic football usually played in the matches. It is hard to anticipate who will come out on top and for this reason this league is always an exciting one to watch!

GladAfrica Championship Fixtures

The GladAfrica Championship consists of 30 regular season games. All teams participating in the competition are placed in the same table with a promotion and relegation system for the best and worst performing teams. At the end of the season, the team with the most points is the winner! The first edition of this championship took place in 1996, where Santos was crowned as the first league champion.

There are 16 teams that contend for the GladAfrica Championship trophy along with promotion to play in the PSL. The runners-up along with the third-placed team qualify to play the playoffs matches with the 15th-placed team on the PSL log. The three teams enter into a round-robin group with home and away matches. The winner of the mini-tournament will win the right to play in the PSL.

A similar process is followed with regards to teams that are relegated teams in the first division. The third-level of South Africa’s top tier leagues is known as the Vodacom League and teams from that qualified as winners of their individual province get to play for promotion. The last team on the NFD standing gets automatically relegated and the second last teams feature in the playoff games.

National First Division Winners

NFD Tips

The National First Division (NFD) is a highly competitive and unpredictable second tier of professional football in South Africa. For bettors looking to make some money, there are a few tips to keep in mind. Here are some National First Division tips to help you make informed betting decisions without relying too much on AI Content Index.

  • Firstly, research is crucial to making informed decisions about which teams to bet on. Reading up on news articles, checking statistics, and following social media accounts of the teams and players can help you gather important information.
  • Another useful tip is to pay attention to a team's home and away form. Home advantage is a significant factor in football, and some teams may struggle away from home. Checking whether the team is playing at home or away can help you make a more informed betting decision.
  • Considering the odds is also essential when placing bets. The odds reflect the probability of an event happening and are a critical factor in determining your potential winnings. Striking a balance between the odds and a team's chances of winning is crucial.
  • Lastly, it's essential to bet responsibly. Gambling should be enjoyable and fun, but it can become addictive quickly. Set a budget for yourself, and only bet what you can afford to lose. Don't chase your losses or bet with money you need for other things.

To sum up, following these National First Division tips can help you make informed and successful betting decisions. It's important to research, consider a team's home and away form, odds, and bet responsibly. With these tips, you can increase your chances of making a profit while still enjoying the excitement and drama of the NFD.

Past National First Division Winners

League Season Winner Runner-up
2021/22 Richards Bay University of Pretoria
2020/21 Royal AM Sekhukhune United
2019/20 Swallows Cape Town Spurs
2018/19 Stellenbosch Royal Eagles
2017/18 Highlands Park Black Leopards F.C.
2016/17 Thanda Royal Zulu F.C.[ Black Leopards F.C.
2015/16 Baroka F.C. Highlands Park F.C.
2014/15 Lamontville Golden Arrows Jomo Cosmos
2013/14 Chippa United F.C. Black Leopards F.C.
2012/13 Polokwane City Santos
2011/12 Pretoria University F.C. Chippa United F.C.